Maple Syrup Season Books for Kids

Favourite kids books about maple syrup

Share to Social:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Reddit

March is the beginning of all things Maple! As the sweetest season kicks-off, it’s the perfect time to curl up with a book that transports kids to the sugar shack – then plan a visit to a real Maple Syrup Farm right here in Ontario!

10+ Kids Books to Celebrate Maple Syrup Season

1. O Canada, I Love Maple Syrup!

by Aine Moorad

Zayd’s been in Canada ten days. He loves it here, but doesn’t like winter. When the freezing Canadian wind blows Zayd’s way, he feels cold and glum. But Zayd’s discovered a magic potion that keeps him feeling warm and happy. It’s the Canadian Maple Syrup ! Every time Zayd licks it, he feels like jumping up and down, and can’t stop giggling. Join Zayd as he enters the Baldwin-Khan Sugar Bush in the heart of Ontario, Canada and discovers how this slimy candy-like syrup is made. A funny, educational and heartwarming story.

Available in Paperback at Amazon.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

2. Maple Syrup from the Sugarhouse

by Laurie Lazzaro Knowlton (Author), Kathryn Mitter (Illustrator)

Available in Hardcover, and Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

3. The Sweetest Season

by Elissa Kerr and Zoe Saunders

Available in Hardcover, and Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

4. Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast

by Josh Funk (Author), Brendan Kearney (Illustrator)

A thoroughly delicious rhyming story about the funniest food fight ever—perfect for fans of The Food Group series—now in paperback edition.
Lady Pancake and Sir French Toast have a beautiful friendship—until they discover that there’s only one drop of maple syrup left! The race is ON! Off they go, racing past the Orange Juice Fountain, skiing through Sauerkraut Peak, and reeling down the linguini.

Available in Hardcover and Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

5. If You Give a Pig a Pancake

by Laura Numeroff (Author), Felicia Bond (Illustrator)

If you give a pig a pancake, she’ll want some syrup to go with it. You’ll give her some of your favorite maple syrup, and she’ll probably get all sticky, so she’ll want to take a bath. She’ll ask you for some bubbles. When you give her the bubbles…

Available in Hardcover and Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

6. Bear Goes Sugaring

by Maxwell Eaton III (Author)

Learn how to make syrup the old fashioned way with the help of a friendly bear and her amusingly unhelpful accomplices Dog and Squirrel in this informative comics-style picture book, now available in paperback.

Available in Hardcover and Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

7. Curious George Makes Maple Syrup

by H. A. Rey (Author)

Sunday is pancake day, and no plate of pancakes is complete without maple syrup. But when George runs out of his favorite topping, where will he find more? With the help of his friends Allie and Mr. Renkins, George learns how to turn sap from maple trees into his very own bottle of sweet, delicious syrup! 

Available in Hardcover and Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

8. Sugarbush Spring

by Marsha Wilson Chall (Author), Jim Daly (Illustrator)

Marsha Wilson Chall’s timeless story and Jim Daly’s glowing paintings invite children to share in the pleasure of making maple syrup—a process that’s the same today as it was two hundred years ago.

Available in Hardcover.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

9. Sugar Snow

by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Author), Doris Ettlinger (Illustrator)

Part of from the Little House series. In Sugar Snow, Laura is delighted when a soft, thick snow falls in late spring in the Big Woods of Wisconsin. A late snow helps the trees make more sap for maple syrup, and maple syrup means sweet sugar cakes and sticky fingers for Laura! 

Available in Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

10. From Maple Tree to Syrup

by Melanie Mitchell (Author)

How do trees make sweet maple syrup? Follow each step in the food production cycle—from planting sugar maple trees to pouring syrup on pancakes—in this fascinating book! Read all the Start to Finish titles and discover how one thing becomes another.

Available in Paperback.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

11. At Grandpas Sugar Bush

by Margaret Carney (Author), Janet Wilson (Illustrator)

Alongside his grandpa, a young boy shares the tasks involved in making maple syrup the old-fashioned way. From tapping the trees to boiling the sap, the two spend many hours working side by side in the woods. Their reward is a delicious breakfast of pancakes and “the best syrup in the whole world.” This is more than a story about syrup-making. It is the story of the grandfather’s bond with nature and how he transfers this feeling to his grandson. Janet Wilson’s rich oil paintings capture all the signs of spring’s arrival in the sugar bush and the loving relationship between the boy and his grandpa.

Available in Hardcover.

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

12. Almost Time

by Gary D. Schmidt (Author), Elizabeth Stickney (Author), G. Brian Karas (Illustrator)

A tender father-and-son story about the passage of time, the change of seasons, and the excitement of reaching a goal. Eager for maple syrup, Ethan can’t wait till sugaring time rolls around. And he can’t wait till his loose tooth falls out. But his father keeps telling him it’s not time yet, and no matter how hard he tries, he can’t make time pass more quickly. The brief, lyrical text is illuminated by G. Brian Karas’s beautiful illustrations.

Available in Hardcover.

Almost Time

We may earn a small commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

Child’s Life is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and other parter programs such as Etsy and Well.ca. We only promote hand picked products we have reviewed and love! When you purchase a product provided by one of our links you will not be charged any extra, but we may receive a small percentage of the sale.

Explore More

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top